Every year, a huge number of motor vehicle crashes, collisions, and accidents are reported in California. In fact, more than 3,500 people lost their lives in such accidents in 2019 alone. If you ever have the misfortune of getting involved in a car crash or accident, you should know the rights and state laws for timely action. It is also in your best interests that you contact one of car accident attorneys Los Angeles, to know your options. In this post, we are sharing some quick facts related to car accident laws in California.
You can recover both economic and noneconomic damages
If the accident happened because of the other party’s fault, you can file for compensation. California is an at-fault state, so the insurance company of the at-fault party will pay for damages. If things don’t resolve with the insurance company, or your losses are severe, you can file a personal injury lawsuit. Economic damages include medical bills, loss of wages, and other things like therapy and rehabilitation needed for recovery. Noneconomic damages include pain, suffering, and everything else you have endured that cannot be quantified in money.
California follows the “pure comparative negligence” rule
States that follow the “pure comparative negligence” rule allows a person to file for compensation, even when they have majority of fault in an accident. However, their share will be reduced by the percentage of their share in fault. For instance, if you were 90% at fault for a car accident and your damages have been marked at $10,000, you can still recover $1,000. Remember one important thing here – The party that has suffered because of your negligence will also file a compensation claim/lawsuit to recover their losses. Talk to an attorney to know if your insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit will be worth the effort.
The “statute of limitations”
The “statute of limitations” in California allows two years, from the date of accident, to bring injury lawsuits against the party at fault. In other words, you have to act quick. If the car accident resulted in death of someone, the family can file for wrongful death lawsuit within two years from the date of death, which can be different from date of accident.
As long as you hire an attorney, you don’t have to worry about the statute of limitations or evidence disappearing. Allow an experienced attorney in LA to handle your car accident lawsuit.